Marrakech – part 2

Yesterday I posted about my trip to Marrakech and visiting the beautiful Jardin Marjorelle. If you missed it, you can read about it here.

Jardin Majorelle, Marrakech

Today I’d like to finish posting about my short trip and show you more pictures from the magical Marrakech.

One more must see and definitely unmissable sight is Koutubia Mosque. It’s the tallest building in the city (none of the buildings are allowed to be taller than the mosque), hence visible from afar. Non muslims aren’t allowed inside, nevertheless you can admire the view from nearby.

Koutoubia Mosque, Marrakech Koutoubia Mosque, Marrakech

Afterwards I walked to the most famous Jemaa El Fna square. It’s very big and very empty in the daytime apart from a few juice sellers. But it’s a completely different story in the evening!

Jemaa El Fna square, Marrakech

Souk was almost empty too, only with several stalls open here and there. I took only a few pictures as I was slightly worried, because I read that people get really angry and don’t like to be taken pictures off whether it’s them or their stalls, so I thought it’s best to avoid potential offending.

Jemaa El Fna souk, Marrakech Jemaa El Fna souk, Marrakech Jemaa El Fna souk, Marrakech

Since the trip was quite short and was meant for the relaxation there wasn’t much time to fit in everything. So apart from visiting the souks in the evening, I also paid a visit to the beautiful La Mamounia hotel, famous for catering to world’s rich and famous.

La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech La Mamounia Hotel, Marrakech

And then… the visit to the Jemaa El Fna square, which in the evening transformed into a truly magical place. Packed with sellers, locals and tourists alike, its performers and entertainers drew crowds around them. The souk had every single stall open, ranging from fruits, nuts and spices to clothes, lanterns and everything else you might think of.

Here’s a video that I filmed from the terrace of the restaurant. It’s not very good quality, but should definitely give an idea of what the place looks like in the evening.

I am also very pleased with my lovely souvenirs.

Lanterns Tea set

To be very honest, a trip to buy something at the souk was slightly dreadful. Not only did I read a lot about the horrors of bargaining, but I also heard about it freshly from other people staying in the hotel, stating what a horrible experience that was. Nevertheless I decided to go there with an open mind and be calm and patient whatever happens. And guess what….? Up until today I don’t know what went wrong for all those people, but I experienced no “horrors”. Everyone was smiling, very friendly, there were absolutely no problems with anyone at all. In fact with very little money that I had left I was only banking on getting a lantern, yet I managed to walk away with all my lovely purchases.

It’s been the most amazing holiday and I’ll definitely be returning there one day.

As for all the things you read on the internet about other people’s experiences – I think you definitely want to listen and take notes, but go with open mind and make your own experiences and memories.

Have a beautiful day ahead!
Jolita x

Leave a Reply

